Living, Suffering and Dying...what for?

Wednesday, 20 September 2006
  • Print
  • Email
  • Picture

Some voices today are using individual freedom to call for the "right to die" when illness seems to make life too heavy a burden. This brings up the question of the purpose of existence and the purpose of suffering. Christians find the answer to these questions in the Gospel. It is there that they understand they are not the masters, but the stewards of their lives.

This leaflet offers to people who are struggling with illness, as well as to all others, the opportunity to discover or deepen their understanding of the unexpected meaning that Christ gives to our lives and to our suffering.

Many find in Him the source of their perseverance, of their hope, and even of their joy in adversity.

Written in a conversational and accessible style, this publication walks the reader through a powerful contemplation of one of life's greatest mysteries: pain and suffering. It reveals their profound Christian meaning and instills a renewed sense of hope, courage and peace.

This reflection can be continued in families, between friends or among colleagues, in parishes, schools and universities, in hospitals or in nursing homes and palliative care centres – wherever men and women, young and aging, wonder about life and the enigma of pain and death.

Order Printed Copy

$0.25
Quantity:

Download Electronic Version:

Download:

Please share our publications with others!

documents-iconCOLF's publications are ideal for families and for distribution in parishes, schools, universities, hospitals, faith-sharing groups, retreats, youth groups, lecture and study groups, local lay organizations, ministry formation programs, and the conferences of national associations. They also make excellent gifts to mark Christmas, Easter, Mothers' and Fathers' Days and special international days or weeks. Copies of COLF publications may be ordered by contacting us at:


EmailThis email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.
Tel: (613) 241-9461 x. 161
Fax: (613) 241-9048

2500 Don Reid Drive
Ottawa, Ontario K1H 2J2

 

Shopping Cart

No items in cart

Vivre, souffrir et mourir...pourquoi ?

mercredi, 20 septembre 2006
  • Imprimer
  • E-mail
  • Picture

Ce dépliant offre aux personnes malades comme aux bien portantes l'occasion de saisir ou d'approfondir la signification inattendue que le Christ vient donner à nos vies et à nos souffrances. Beaucoup trouvent en Lui la source de leur persévérance, de leur espérance, et même de leur joie dans l'adversité.
Au nom de la liberté, des voix s'élèvent aujourd'hui pour réclamer le « droit de mourir » lorsque la maladie semble rendre la vie trop lourde à porter. Se pose alors la question du pourquoi de l'existence et du pourquoi de la souffrance. Les chrétiens trouvent réponse à ces interrogations dans l'Évangile. C'est là qu'ils se découvrent intendants —et non pas maîtres— de leur vie.

Cette réflexion s'inscrit dans le débat sur l'euthanasie et le suicide assisté qui se poursuit dans la société canadienne. Le ton simple et accessible de ce dépliant entraîne les lecteurs dans la contemplation de l'un des grands mystères de la vie : la douleur et la souffrance. Il leur en révèle le sens chrétien profond, tout en leur inspirant un sens renouvelé de l'espérance, du courage et de la paix.

Une réflexion à poursuivre en famille, entre amis et collègues, en paroisse, à l'école et à l'université, dans le cadre hospitalier ou celui des centres d'accueil et des centres de soins palliatifs – partout où des hommes et des femmes, des jeunes et des aînés s'interrogent sur la vie et sur l'énigme de la douleur et de la mort.

Commander des exemplaires imprimés

$0.25
Quantité:

Version PDF:

Télécharger:

Partagez nos publications avec vos amis!

documents-iconNos publications sont idéales pour provoquer la réflexion dans des milieux variés : paroisses, écoles, universités, hôpitaux, groupes de partage de la foi, centres de retraite, groupes de jeunes, groupes d'étude, organisations laïques, familles, centres de formation chrétienne et conférences d'associations nationales. Elles font aussi d'excellents cadeaux en des occasions spéciales comme Noël, Pâques, la Fête des mères et la Fête des pères, ainsi que des Journées ou des Semaines thématiques annuelles.


MessagerieCette adresse e-mail est protégée contre les robots spammeurs. Vous devez activer le JavaScript pour la visualiser. 
Tel: (613) 241-9461 poste 161
Téléc.: (613) 241-9048

2500, promenade Don Reid
Ottawa, Ontario K1H 2J2

 

Panier d'achat

aucun article dans le panier